My top 10 favorite animals that most people have never heard of #7

raccoon-dog

http://www.factzoo.com/mammals/raccoon-dog-night-wanderer.html

#7 Raccoon Dog/Tanuki

Size: 20-23 ½ in. (50-60 cm.)

Weight 17 lbs. (7.5 kg)

The Raccoon Dog (Tanuki)  is a member of the canine family, though it has strong resemblance to a raccoon. Tanukis travel in pairs, a male and a female. There are two very unusual traits that raccoon dogs/tanukis have that most canines don’t, the ability to climb trees and to hibernate during winter. They can be found in Japan, other Eastern Asian countries, as well as parts of Europe. But they have become extinct in parts of China.

Fun Facts

*In the Super Mario Bros. franchise there is a leaf shaped power up that turns the characters into a Tanuki (in game spelled Tanooki). First appearing in Super Mario Bros. 3.

*Tanuki/raccoon dogs can be found throughout Japanese folklore as mischievous shapeshifters.

*Raccoon Dogs are sometimes kept as pets.

*There is only one place to see raccoon dogs in the US, The Atlanta Zoo in Atlanta, Georgia.

~Breanna D.

Tanooki suit from 1990 Super Mario Bros. 3

Photo Link 1990

Photo Link 2013

2 thoughts on “My top 10 favorite animals that most people have never heard of #7

  1. My daughter and I read this together, she had heard of but had never seen even a picture of one before, I knew nothing about them Thank you so much! My daughter’s teacher wanted me to start sharing appropriate blog sites with her and when I went to my email and saw there was a new “My top 10 favorite animals that most people have never heard of ” I said to her “Yes! This is one of my favourites.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

