Autism is Special

autism-is-special

In my years of life I thought I was different than everyone, but at the age of 15 my parents were asked by a doctor to have me take a test. My parents were shocked to find out I had a disorder called autism. At first, they thought I was just slow, but now they knew the truth. So then I felt different from other people until I went to high school and I met some interesting people that became my friends. Some people acted like me and some were more special. When I was in junior year, I began to learn how to help them with school. Years after high school I had an idea that instead of college I began to do research on autism so not only me but the world could have more understanding for people with autism. I already had some inspiration my old teacher Miss Early and my friends, so I began to keep a journal. Here is some information from my journal: “If you have autism, you have stronger emotions like anger, happiness, sadness, confusion, hunger, love, pain, fear and boredom.” So now I thought about expanding my research from the things I learned from Seeds for Autism. I bet there is a lot to learn from autism, but the coolest thing about it is that there is always something new to learn about autism and it will never end.

by Matthew A           

One thought on “Autism is Special

  1. What a great post. I didn’t find out I had autism until my daughters were diagnosed. They thought lots of different things were wrong with me before that. I think the world will be much better if people with autism research and discuss autism as well as doctors etc. because we can see it from another angle. Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

