Wood Department review

 20161018_092435

Hi my name is Megan and the wood department is what I want to talk about today. The wood department is my favorite because I’ve worked in there the most and Ed is a really good instructor. There are two instructors in the wood department. One works from Monday to Thursday and the other one only comes in on Wednesday. Ed is the one who works at SEEDs all week and Al goes on Wednesday. Ed is the instructor who taught me how to use the lathe in wood turning. One of the previous instructors, Brian, taught me how to use the bandsaw. I hurt myself once by not paying enough attention to what I was doing and accidentally cut myself. After the accident though I was able to restrain myself from getting cut any more on the bandsaw and work towards being better in the wood department.

I first started working at Seeds in 2014 and when I did, Mary Ann thought I should work in the wood department. At first I was a little bit worried and scared, but after a while I got used to it. Working with Ed has helped me tremendously and I was able to further understand how to work in the wood department. The things I’ve made in the wood department include: salt and pepper shakers, acorn boxes, handles for pizza cutters, garden forks and wine bottle stoppers just to name a few.

The skills I’ve learned so far in the wood department range from job skills to conversation skills. I also learned how to cope with situations that you don’t always agree with. Even when you’re faced with something you’ve never done before, you learn how to deal with it as time goes on and it gets easier and easier to do. I was patient with myself so that I could adapt easier to what I was doing in the wood department. And I was also able to be persistent with what I was doing right when I was in the wood department so that I could better adapt to working in there.

The wood department has taught me many things including being persistent, learning to be able to cope with different situations, job skills like focusing on the task, following instructions, attention to detail, and most importantly listening to the instructor. One of the reasons I love working in the wood department is that the instructor Ed has helped me overcome a lot of difficulties to be able to work in that department. Another reason is that he has taught me how to cope with situations and work on the lathe which was a new experience for me.

One thought on “Wood Department review

Leave a Reply

