My top 10 favorite animals that most people have never heard of #1

Image result for sugar glider

https://www.pinterest.com/explore/sugar-gliders/

#1 Sugar Glider

Size: 12 – 13 in. (24 – 30 cm.)

Weight: 3 – 5 oz. (85 – 142 gm.)

Sugar gliders are found in Northern, Southern, and Eastern Australia. They live in large family groups from 15 – 30 or even more gliders. Like kangaroos and koalas, sugar gliders are marsupials. As their name states, sugar gliders can glide through the air. They use flaps of skin that they have attached between their arms like a hang glider to jump from tree to tree. (just like flying squirrels) I like sugar gliders not just because of their adorable faces, but also because I got to hold and pet one of my friends’ pet sugar gliders. I had never seen or even heard of a sugar glider, until I visited my friends in another state and saw the little guys. After that I asked my one of my friends if I could make a character based on him, but as a sugar glider. He said yes and named his character Tipit after his favorite sugar glider. I have loved sugar gliders ever since.

Fun Facts

*Sugar gliders are nocturnal. (sleep during the day/ stay up all night.)

*Baby sugar gliders are called joeys, just like kangaroos and koalas.

*Sugar gliders can live up to  15 years in captivity. The average lifespan is 3 – 5 years in the wild.

*They can be kept as pets in certain parts of the world. But in the US there are some states where you can’t. These states are California, Hawaii, and Alaska.

~Breanna D.

Leave a Reply

