My Experience in the Weaving Department

At SEEDs for Autism, participants work in a variety of departments – learning the skills necessary to create a multitude of beautiful, high-quality home and garden products. But the learning process does not end there. Daniel discovered that learning how to weave made him realize that he can accomplish anything he sets his mind to. (Ed.)

Daniel working with a nifty knitter

Hello my name is Daniel and I’m going to be writing about my experience in the Weaving Department. My instructor’s name is Bailey and she has taught me how to work with the nifty knitters to make scarfs and headbands. We make towels using a loom. The products the Weaving dept produces are made of fibers woven together. We learn lessons on how to weave the fabric together to make products that serve a useful function in the house.  The towels could be used for washing your hands or for decoration on the wall. Scarfs prevent you from getting cold and they are an attractive fashion  accessory.

It was initially very hard to learn weaving, but I persisted at it and it became easier with time. Learning the skill of weaving has shown me that if you set your mind to something you can do it .

I felt proud when I learned a difficult skill.


Leave a Reply

